Passwords available in the library!
Need to find more sources? The public libraries have many more full-text eBooks and databases, free to you to access from home WITH their library card.
Contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, & events. Reference texts AND full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, & audio.
Full-text magazines, newspapers, journals, reference materials. A great place to start research.
Opposing viewpoints of current complex social issues. Statistics, government data, legislation, newspaper & magazine articles, Web links.
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues and current events. Includes multimedia sources: podcasts, video, graphs.
On a temporary trial - will expire 11/30/17
Nonfiction eBooks on a wide variety of topics. Read online or download as pdf.
Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports written by experienced journalists, and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. username = PalosVerdes password = cqpress
Peer reviewed academic research on education, pedagogy & theory. Researching motivation, teaching/coaching methodologies, learning disabilities? ERIC is the top database for education-related research.
Calisphere offers students more than 200,000 primary sources such as photographs, documents, newspapers, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, and other cultural artifacts. These materials reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Access thousands of primary sources — letters, photographs, speeches, posters, maps, videos, and other document types — spanning the course of American history.
Primary documents, images, audio files, videos, artifacts and more, spanning the course of American History.
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office. The Library preserves and provides access to a rich, diverse and enduring source of knowledge to inform, inspire and engage.
All subscription databases funded by the Boosters.
All expire December 31 2017.
About Academic Databases
Electronic databases should be your first step in online research. These are password protected informational resources our school subscribes to for research purposes. The information is hand-selected, evaluated, standardized, authenticated, and RELIABLE.
Colleges often require high school students to use electronic databases instead of the free Web (i.e. Google, Wikipedia, etc.)
PVHS encourages students to use more reliable sources of information in preparation for college research. Content from databases is accurate and up to date.
If you are not finding what you need:
Don't forget to also check the library's catalog of the thousands of relevant print materials in the PVHS Library shelves. (Catalog is only searchable from a school library computer.)
> Do not forget, however, that there are more databases than just Gale.
Students, faculty, and university academics talk about databases...
Why Academic Databases?